Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Robisa666

New Fishy Family Member!

Please can you help, I don't really know much about different Goldfish breeds but would like to add one or two to my tank.

We have had 2 fish killed recently by an evil pleco (who has been removed). My favorite goldfish, Old Man Bob, was killed today ... he was 14 years old and beautiful. I am looking for a glorious beautiful eyecatching fish to add to my family. Could you recommend any?

If anyone has any questions please ask!

Fish.jpg

Could you tell us about your set up (tank size, filtration, how many and what types of fish)? It would be remiss of us not to know that before making any suggestions. :)

I'm sorry about your recent loss. I've also lost goldfish to a murderous pleco before, even though the pleco was a more peaceful type. :(

RIP Old Man Bob!

Could you tell us about your set up (tank size, filtration, how many and what types of fish)?

I can try my best! I'm no expert.

The tank size is aprox 96 Litres, it has a large black filter installed in the back of it. (I will attatch a picture)

In the tank we now have 5 fish (the pleco has been removed)

Two of them are Black Moors, two are common goldfish (I think) and one is confusing, I can't seem to find what he is! His picture below is 'Duke'.

IMG_0775.jpg

Fish.jpg

Hello, thank you for providing the info.

Based on the general guidelines for stocking goldfish, fancy tail types (such as the black moors and the red cap oranda duke) each requires 38L of water and single tails like the common each require 76L of water. So, in total, the five fish you have will require 266L to ensure the good health and optimal growth for the entirety of their lives. As you only have 96L at this time; I don't think it would be wise to to add more fish, as overstocking will result in stressed, unhealthy and stunted fish.

Would you consider upgrading to a larger tank?

Oh I forgot to mention that! Sorry!