Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
tofu

Carbon

I have a media cartridge in one of my filters that's got carbon in it, and I was wondering, how long until it needs to be changed?

Also, what exactly does it do? It says on the bottle that carbon "removes impurities", but I have no idea what they mean by that.

in order for carbon to remove impurities - it takes away traces of meds for example - it needs to be changed every month. If you have it in one of those filter cartridges (which you don't want to change each month) - you can cut a small hole in the sponge and shake the carbon out. you really don't need it except after a round of meds.

from my understanding.. carbon filters impurities in the water and creates crystal clear water.. and from my understanding, it needs to be changed every few months? meh.. i'm new to this.. LOL... but i'm keen to learn if my understanding is correct or incorrect.. :blink: someone is soon to come along with a koko stick and :SmackBottom: me

Thankfully, it's a media basket and not a filter cartridge, so changing it is really easy. It's been in there for about 3 weeks and I wasn't sure when to change it. I'm considering just taking it out. There haven't been meds in the tank for a month, and no matter how much I rinse it little chunks of carbon get spewed out of the filter and into my tank when I put new carbon in. So unless it's super important, I don't think I want to keep it in.

see? told you so.. LOL i got :SmackBottom: by my good friend frederica!! did u enjoy that hun?? :tomuch:

Oh it's fine, we're all learning. No one knows everything! :)

It also removes other unwanted chemicals like fluoride (if you have that in your water, we sure do here D: ) that are found in your water out of the tap.

If it gets 'full' it can start seeping chemicals back into the water, so it needs to be replaced semi regularly.