Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
kerriliu

Horrific Scene At Local Pet Store

Hi, I'm a newbie and I'm at the end of the fishless cycling. I went to the local megachain petstore with my little one to get couple goldfish. There were about four cubicles at the pet store for goldfish. Each cubicle had about 10-20 goldfish in it. Most of the fish were dead, I think, because they were lifeless and stayed at the bottom. I'm not sure if they were dead because they weren't belly-up. And some fish looked like they were stuck by the filter. The scene was disturbing for me and my three year old. I understand that this was probably no big deal for a petstore, but why they did't remove those dead looking fish.

And for the few fish that were still alive, they didn't look healthy. There were tiny little white dots on the fins and body. Only 1-2 of the entire goldfish section looked okay.

Where can I get my fish? Should I go save the only ones that looked okay?

Hi Goldlover. Welcome to Koko's! Many have had similar experiences with their big chain store fish department. I would not suggest buying from a selection of unhealthy fish. It really is just asking for trouble, and as a new hobbyist, it wouldn't be the best start for sure!

How big is your tank?? I always suggest looking first to the smaller petstores and if possible, the ones that specialize in fish only. The odds of getting a better quality fish are greatly increased, although even that does not guarantee - especially with goldfish. Sadly enough, some fish stores still see goldies as the bottom-of-the-barrel fish and will toss them in mass into a small tank. :(