Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Faust

Sorry I Got Another Question

How is air supplied in a pond? I want to set up a small one, like maybe 250gal-500gal, although I am not sure the best way to go about it all. What a good filter to use is, how is air supplied, things of that nature.

Would love to help you out, but I know nothing about ponds! :(

I am sure someone will come along soon with an answer!! :)

You should root around in the pond section. There is lots of info there. :)

http://www.kokosgoldfish.invisionzone.com/...hp?showforum=63

Edited by ryukin girl

I think a lot of ponds have small fountains that would do the job, but I'm no expert.

I have a large pond but it's so big that it doesn't need a filter. So I never looked into pond filters. Try googling pond filters I'm sure you'll be able to find a lot of information.

I also recommend looking around in the 'ponds' department for info/advice/help, but I have some basic knowledge.

Often a pond will have much more surface area per fish than a tank (and more gallons/fish), so aeration isn't such a problem (but if you have green water, you need to be aware that at night it uses O2 and produces CO2). Fountains and waterfalls are popular water return/aeration devices.

There are filters specifically designed for ponds; pond filters are large, rugged, designed for use outdoors, and usually don't include the pump or hoses (there's a little more DIY and customization in pond setups).

Are you planning on moving your goldies outside for the summer? It will be good for them :)

Edited by A Penguin

I have a large pond but it's so big that it doesn't need a filter. So I never looked into pond filters. Try googling pond filters I'm sure you'll be able to find a lot of information.