Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Chrissy_Bee

A Few Basic Questions

One thing I know very little about is goldfish breeding. I had a fish lay eggs a few years ago, but beyond that I have no experience. My deme George has had breeding stars for a few months now, he pretty much got them as soon as I put my new pearlscale (Frederick) in with him. My questions are...

Is it a sure thing that "Fred" is a female, and if so, that she will lay eggs? I know she may already have done so and I just didn't see them before they were eaten (espeically since Fred is an insane eater).

Also, I'm assuming there's external fertilization? How long does it take the male to deposit the sperm?

Thanks to anyone who can help :D

I'd like to save an egg or two...if they ever come...and try to raise some babies. (That would give me a great excuse to buy another tank!!)

Edited by Chrissy_Bee

I asked a question a few days back if females always drop eggs? I hope someone can help you better!!!

Females do not ALWAYS drop eggs. Females (and males to a slightly lesser degree) do better at breeding if properly "prepped". In nature, the goldfish will feed heavily on greens and plants in the pond during the summer. But in the fall, the greens die back as the cold weather comes in. Dead and dying insects fall on the surface of the pond and the fish glut themselves on protien.

After this feeding, the temps drop and the fish go into dormancy. Some are colder than others - but a degree of cold semi-dormancy is generally needed for the best breeding reactions. When the temps start warming up, the days start lengthening and the air pressure drops more often during spring storms, the fish will drop their eggs. Females may drop a season's worth of eggs within a few days - or may have 2 -3 rounds of spawning. Having an interested male in the tank to pursue her can help convince her to drop eggs.