Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Miss Eccles

Fry Help Pleeeease

Guest Miss Eccles

hey i am completely new to this.

my fish was chasing the other one for ages and i didnt know why so i looked it up on the net and it said it was because they are trying to mate. i then looked at the plant and it had eggs on so i took it out, put it in a small pot/tank (no filter system, should i have one?) and added a bit of heat from a lamp (not so its boiling rolleyes.gif ). they hatched 3-4 days later, and now they have been hatched for a day and a half. they laid at the bottom and wiggled so i guess they were eating their yolk sacks.... they were then swimming around but i just checked on them and i cant see any swimming around (i only had about 5 that i could see alive because it was only a small batch of eggs) and they are laying on the bottom and not wiggling anymore... are they dead? i fed them a tiny bit of egg yolk just incase there was no food in the water, but it hasnt helped.... :(

i just read that goldfish mature for breeding at a year old.... optimum age is 3 years? i bought mine from the petshop in october 2006.... i was thinking that maybe they are too young to produce strong healthy babies?

please help if you can. any advice about the age of the fish, anything i have done wrong, or anything i should do will be appreciated :)

Edited by Miss Eccles

Do you have any type of aeration in the bucket? I didnt have any filter on my fry tank till about a week old and then I used a sponge filter.

Guest Miss Eccles

no i dont im afraid.... i could always get one tomorrow i think....

if they are dead i will always try again :(

If youre not seeing any movement then thats probably not a good sign.

If youre going to try again a few good things to have on hand are:

A spare 10 gallon tank

an airstone/airpump/sponge filter

Hikari First Bites food or brine shrimp eggs to hatch

Guest Miss Eccles

ok i will get those tomorrow...