Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
hapygeko

"dirt" As A Bottom Cover

Hello! This is my first time posting here, so I'll start with a brief introduction! My name is Brit, and I am a senior living at a residential high school in Illinois (USA), near Chicago. I am responsible for running the greenhouse, and so I have filled it, along with my dorm room, with aquariums! I currently have well over 400 gallons here to tend to, which keeps me busy but quite happy as well :)

I have been having lots of problems with my tank of goldfish over the years, and I can't seem to find any answers to my questions. I have been trying to chip away at what appears to be swim bladder disease. My fish get this off and on, but it seems to effect the moor and the fantail much more than the ranchu. I tried soaking their flakes and pellets, but that never had any impact, so I made a gel food by combining a few recipes I have seen on this forum. I hope to see results of this within the next week or so.

And now I am trying to tackle the biological filtration. All of my water quality readings come out perfectly, but I am thinking there is a bacterial issue in my tank. I am wondering if this is caused by the under gravel filter, since I only have a powerful bubbler on it and not powerheads. Some people swear by UGF, but others shun their use. I can hook up powerheads, or I can just take the UGF out. I have a hanging box filter, too, that is running, so I think I just used the UGF as a method for keeping the air hoses in place, anyways. I have noticed a lot of gunk build-up under the UGF, which I am sure can't be good.