Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
coyote ugly

I Have Fry Again!

Oooohhhh it's great to be back :D

My black moor and white telescope spawned and tons of eggs were layed on the 16th .It was a total surprise.....I didn't have any plants in there so the eggs stuck at the bottom.As soon as I noticed the eggs,I immediately added a couple of plants and collected the eggs.....after 2 days,they hatched :yeah: on the 21st(my birthday!yay!)almost all of the frys were free swimming.So far,I have counted about 40 frys but some have severe deformities :(

I was thinking of culling the ones that have very bad shapes....some are curved like the letter C and some like an S.I can't help feeling sorry when I see them struggle swimming...should I cull or just let nature take it's course? :unsure: I am very confused!!! :(

First off....CONGRATS on the new additions!!

Secondly, I have NO experience when it comes to breeding.....but, if they are in a shape that will compromise their quality of life in a real negative way, maybe you should cull them....but that is just my opinion.

Glad to see you back!!

thanks.... :D

last year,when I had frys,I didn't have to cull since I didn't have very bad deformities....but this time it's too obvious that they have trouble swimming and just flow around the tank....I can't really tell if they are in pain but it seems that they would be stressed to just keep flowing around :cry1

I would cull them if they are definitely having a lot of trouble moving around. More likely than not, they will probably die eventually, but its up to you. Im facing that problem myself with some of my own.

:) Hi Cathy,Welcome back! Congrats on the fry. Culling is the hard part of the whole breeding thing,but I think in the end,you lesson their time with pain/problems. Those fish,if they even live,don't seem to live very long,and by then you are even more attached which makes it more difficult to see. :( Good luck with the babies!