Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
d_golem

Inheriting Desireable Features

The prospect of breeding goldfish is very appealing to me, and although I'm fairly new to this whole goldfish business, I'm prepared to do my best in raising my current GFs (all about 4cm long) and making them breed.

There're a few questions I would like to ask if u guys dont mind answering :D will be very appreciated:

1. If 2 fish of the same breed mate (e.g. fantail with another fantail), how many % of the frys will be the same breed like their parents?

2. Can a fry with totally different characteristics as their parents be produced (e.g. telescope-eye fry from oranda & pearlscale parents) and if it's possible, how many % of the frys will become that?

3. Can 2 fancies parents produce a comet, or even more, a common? If so, how many % will usually become that?

4. Can a batch of frys feature several different breeds (e.g. ranchu, oranda, fantail, telescope etc in one batch)?

5. What breed (fancies only) is easiest to produce true-to-type and what is the hardest?

I suspect most of the answers to the questions will be a bit vague, especially the % questions, so maybe give an average percentage it's best ;) thanks a bunch guys

cheers

Those are some great questions. I will be watching this post to see what people have to say. If you dont mind, I would like to add one of my questions that I have been curious about. I also wondered if you can breed inbreed goldfish. Say the male and female produce a really good offspring, can you them breed it with other offspring or the parents? Weird, but I thought Id ask.

Guest Chishower

I know that commons are found a lot in batches of fancy fry when the genetics revert back to normal. For anything, the % will vary...

Thats the extent of my knowledge. :rofl I am also curious to know the answeres.