Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Laurarose

Goldfish Behavior

Guest Laurarose

I'm terribly sorry if this question has been posted before.

I'm very new to the family of goldfish owners, so I have questions about virtually everything, but for now, I'll start off with just two.

I have two goldfish, and for right now I'm keeping them in a fairly small, plastic, lidded, bowl-like container. I'll be switching them to an aquarium within a few days, once the space is ready.

Anyway, for my first question - I've noticed that for the hour or so, they've been up at the surface around the edges of their container, and seem to be blowing and eating bubbles. I don't know how long exactly they've been doing it, but I've been watching them intently for about an hour and that seems to be what they're doing, and they do it at the same spot together, no matter where it is. Is this normal?

Now for my second - one of my goldfish in particular (Marco) seems to have a sucking fetish (haha). Yesterday (the day that I got them), I noticed he would go down to the bottom and suck at the rocks, not eating them, or even appearing to try to eat them, he just sort of sucks at them, occasionally sucking one up and then dropping it. Polo (the other little guy) sucks at them too, but not nearly as much. In addition, I have a small plastic plant in the corner that partly sticks out above the water's surface, and earlier today I noticed Marco was like.. sucking at the leafs that fall on the surface or just below it, and he wiggles around a lot when doing it. He actually just started doing it again (as I'm typing this). Again, my question is "is this normal?" I fed them once yesterday, and once today (around the same time like the woman at the pet store said I should), is it possible they're still hungry?

You need a bigger tank (20g at least). Sucking on the top shows bad water quality and or no oxygen. In your case i would say both.