Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Guest 3fishinatank

He May Be A She? Really Fat

Guest 3fishinatank

I'm very new to this, all of the above...owning the fish etc the whole nine yards...I have a 30 gallon tank with 2 lionheads, 2 black moor, 2 cory cats and 1 pleco. My "oldest" lionhead was named.....yes Nemo.....by my two year old, and now I think that he is a she......the fish is very very fat and has been kind of sluggish, well two days ago we had little white...I'm assuming...eggs stuck in half a dozen places on the sides of our tank. Having no knowledge of what to do....when we woke up the next morning, they were gone, except for about five that are still there that are up near the water line. But Nemo is still hanging out on the bottom, not even swimming eagerly up to the surface when he/she see's the food canister come out. ?? Is she full of eggs and can't release them? Is he/she sick? No physical deformities are obvious to me except for being extremely round in the belly, but Nemo has always been the biggest plumpest fish in our tank. The other fish all seem to be fine...no ick or cloudiness in the water.....what's the deal? Any input would be great...thanks!

Guest 3fishinatank

:cry1

Well, no one answered my post and I guess it wouldn't have mattered.....poor little Nemo died while I went out to run an errand this morning, fortunately my daughter didn't notice and I gave him a "buriel" while she took a nap this afternoon.....now I'm concerned about the other fish in the tank....I noticed when I took Nemo out of the tank that it seemed as if his anal opening was bulging out alot and very red....almost like his insides were going to come out? Poor little thing.....Does this sound like something that the other fish will get too? Should I treat the water with something now that there has been a dead fish in it? If anyone has any suggestions I would love to hear them.