Kokos Goldfish Forum
totey

I want to know what happened

So, hey all, new to this forum but not new to fish or goldfish keeping in general. I'd like to clarify this is not an emergency, but something that resulted in a death of a fish almost 2 months ago that I wasn't able to find any answers for anywhere, so I hope posting here to pick your brains in case someone with more experience may be able to shed some light on it. This victim did not make it, but I would like to know if I could prevent it from happening again. It seemed most reasonable to post in the disease section.

Mildly unpleasant description warning? Long post for sure. Thank you in advance if you read it.

The victim: female calico ranchu goldfish between 4-5 inches long, imported from Thailand(?) to the US at some point this year(?) from one of the main big importers here. Got her in March. Before then I had only ever kept common or oranda goldfish, so this is my first time having eggfish.

Tank setup: approx 20 gal tote with floating hornwort and HOB to get them used to my water until I haggle out the details of a new indoor stock tank (had other plans but they didn't work out). At the time of this story, she had 3 tankmates that were between 2-3.5 inches, so there were 4 eggfish total. Changed a portion of the water daily to help the HOB (10-30%) and still do about 10% despite only having two young fish left in there. I only have the liquid ammonia test kit (tested 0 ppm at this time) and some strips I'd gotten to read gh/kh, which says I had maybe 40-60 ppm in nitrates. (after this event I did a 50% change anyway) There's also a few of those aqueon pure enzyme/bacteria things sitting in the HOB as well (so I guess these work after all)

The story: