Kokos Goldfish Forum

Hey guys!

So I bought my first big tank, and I'm considering doing a planted tank with fancy goldfish. Right now I just have the tank sitting, it has nothing in it. It is a blank canvas!

I have kept bettas my whole life because I do planted, low-tech nano tanks around 5 gallons. 

This is my first time wanting to try and keep goldfish so I need help planning proper substrate, plants recommended, hardscape, filtration. 

I haven't bought anything other than the tank and the stand from petsmart which was $200 off! so only $299! I am very excited about this!

Suggestions and comments please!!1

41 minutes ago, shakaho said:

Thank you! I must have been so tired last night I missed these!

Do you prefer a bare bottom tank with some drift wood plants? I feel like thats the way to go with goldfish as they are so messy. 

Any pointers on buying fancy goldfish?

10 hours ago, Lilo1207 said:

Thank you! I must have been so tired last night I missed these!

Do you prefer a bare bottom tank with some drift wood plants? I feel like thats the way to go with goldfish as they are so messy. 

I wouldn't do wood unless your ph is high. If it's 7.8 or lower it can lower the ph :(

My tank is plants with some river rocks just kinda holding the roots down, with just a few hand full of pebble gravel at the bottom. It is for the most part bare as it is a lot easer to clean up after them :) The pebble like gravel is for them to pick at during the day :) 

10 hours ago, Lilo1207 said:

Any pointers on buying fancy goldfish?

The first thing I look if they are in a LFS is all the fish in the tank, if everyone looks healthy then I will start looking at the fish I want.

Then I look to see if the eyes are clean and the fish isn't missing scales. 

I will also put my finger to the tank to see if the fish is interested in me. Thats just a me thing :)