LordToad

Fancy goldfish gasping at the surface and have white poop

17 posts in this topic

I seem to have gotten myself into a bit of a pickle by taking on some sick goldies. I have a black moor and a fantail in a 20g (I'm aware this is too small but they're only 2in at the moment and I'm looking for something bigger) with 2 sponge filters and an internal filter. Surprisingly, my water quality is pretty good, I do an 80-90% w/c every 5 days. When I first got them, they were suspected to have gill flukes and I treated them for it with praziquantel. However, they still gasp at the surface. Over the past few weeks, I've noticed that their poop has turned clear/white- I feed them soaked saki hikari purple bag as a staple and peas before I do a w/c. I'm pretty new to this hobby and have found out that white poop can sometimes be a sign of internal parasites. Would it be wise to medicate their food with praziquantel? If so, what dosage should I use? Other than the gasping at the surface and white poop they seem fine and still love their food. Any advice would be accepted as I don't want to end up losing the little guys.

Thank you in advance.

You might try the epsom salt treatment for internal hexamita infection described  here: https://www.monsterfishkeepers.com/forums/threads/treating-hexamita-aka-spironucleus.339362/  

You can find epsom salt (Magnesium sulphate) in a pharmacy, since it has many functions.

Prazi treats only flukes and tastes so bad that fish reject food containing it.  How long did you treat with Prazi?

13 minutes ago, shakaho said:

Prazi treats only flukes and tastes so bad that fish reject food containing it.  How long did you treat with Prazi?

I did in between 7-9 rounds, treating the whole tank when I did a w/c.

I would do metronidazole. You can also mix it with garlic guard to add acceptance and Seachem Focus to help bind it. Then mix it with fish food (pellets, bloodworms etc).

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk