Kovi

Hello everyone. I'm Kovi

6 posts in this topic

Hi guys. I'm Kovi.

I'm fairly new to keeping goldfish but have been in the aquarium hobby for ages. I kept various different species of fish...too many to name.

I've been wanting to Keep fancy goldfish for a while now, mainly red capped Orandas which I fell inlove with and so in January 2018 decided to get two red capped Oranda cuties to get me started and dabble in goldfish keeping, one out of the two survived due to the second not being of quality but just got him for company for the one I chose. Now the one I have chosen has grown so beautifully and his wen is forming magnificently.

I currently have various species of lake Tanganyikan Cichlids but my favourite fish was my red capped Oranda, so I decided to order more from a reputable source which ensured quality Oranda. I needed up ordering 21 red capped Oranda beauties at 6cm sizes, and purchased a orange/red lion head which was too cute to pass up.

Undoubtedly my red capped Oranda fish and the lion head are my favourite, most entertaining, interactive and inquisitive fish I have kept so far. Their robust nature and cute faces has gotten me hooked and my mission is to give them the best care I possibly can to ensure their health and happiness 100%.

I've been feeding these guys tetra bits, Hikari fancy goldfish and spirulina flakes and have decided now to make my own gel food to ensure they get the best diet. I've made my own DIY Cichlid gel foods from recipes I created from research on various recipes and customizing it from what I thought was best which my Cichlids thrived on, grew beautifully and bred quiet often.

Any advice or recipes on DIY gel food for my Orandas will be highly appreciated since the premade gel foods such as repashy isn't available in my country so I have to work with raw ingredients from scratch.

I'm currently working on their bigger better setup which will be ready in a month or two.