hkiernan33

Red streaks o n goldfish

10 posts in this topic

Hi, noticed one of my fish was spending a lot of time at the bottom of the tank, looking unhappy. There are red streaks on the fin and a few scales missing. Previous to this the fish had been nudging the other fish and chasing it. Have done a water and ammonia test and all appears fine ( results in photos below). Any advice would be great. I am new to keeping goldfish so dont know a lot.4205df33c3d4aedf6a5e445ff676242e.jpgccefa3512d85d2c94f90d21b6de30eee.jpg560df3f7f73b258ee7360d1dfd1a3cb3.jpg68e02e239360bac8ecfdf2944734fbe9.jpg52fdee3143d4e77482f5199891c79f29.jpg

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

To me both of the fish I see look clamped and sick... Please fill out the following form to the best of your ability and provide a full photo of the entire tank, as well. I see a small internal filter and I see you're using test strips rather than the drop kit. Test strips aren't very accurate and internal filters cause more problems than they solve. I believe finding out what's sickening your fish begins with those two things. 

• Test Results for the Following:
    • * Ammonia Level(Tank)
    • * Nitrite Level(Tank)
    • * Nitrate level(Tank)
    • * Ammonia Level(Tap)
    • * Nitrite Level(Tap)
    • * Nitrate level(Tap)
    • * Ph Level, Tank (If possible, KH, GH and chloramines)
    • * Ph Level, Tap (If possible, KH, GH and chloramines)
    • Other Required Info:
      • * Brand of test-kit used and whether strips or drops?
      • * Water temperature?
      • * Tank size (how many gals.) and how long has it been running?
      • * What is the name and "size of the filter"(s)?
      • * How often do you change the water and how much?
  • * How many days ago was the last water change and how much did you change?
  • * How many fish in the tank and their size?
  • * What kind of water additives or conditioners?
  • * What do you feed your fish and how often?
  • * Any new fish added to the tank?