Acro

Good Goldfish Source

13 posts in this topic

For the past few years, I haven't been too active on the forum.  And now I'm ready to admit that I actually haven't kept goldfish for a few years.  I had something happen with my water, lost my 2 goldfish a few hours after a water change.  I either did something, or didn't do something, or there was a problem with the water it self.  I had been keeping goldfish for around 8 years, and I don't know what went wrong.  I was so sad afterwards that I didn't care to find the cause.  They simply were alive one moment, then one died that night, the second one was found dead in the morning.  One of those fish I had kept for around 8 years.

Anyway . . . I've since moved into a new house and I have a 2 car garage under my house.  I am going to make an indoor pond down there and I need a good source for goldfish.  I'd love to buy from Rain Garden, but I can't spend that much money.  I could easily go to the local fish store, but I want healthy, large fish.  What I'm looking for are large commons (aka Hibuna), all the same sex, as I don't want any breeding.  I don't really care about the colors.

I'll be setting them up in an aquaponic system, so the water will be filtered by houseplants, all beautifully arranged.  I'm not sure what size the pond will be yet, as I might use a prefabricated pond liner, stock tank, or a cut IBC tote.  It's even possible that I'll get an old Hot Tub that I saw on Craigslist.  But it's likely the pond will be between 160 gallons and 330 gallons.

So, do you know of a good source for:

* Healthy common (Hibuna) goldfish

* That are large

* That the seller would be willing to sex

* That I can get a bunch for not too much

Thanks and please let me know!  :D