gialeigh

New Canister Filter! I'm new to this. Help?

7 posts in this topic

Hi Guys!

I've finally been able to purchase my first canister filter! I'm super excited, and I'm hoping I got a good one. It's a SunSun 525GPH Canister Filter with 9-watt UV Sterilizer. (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00MH37484/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 )

Let me tell you how intimidated I was when I opened that box...it was huge and so much more complicated than a HOB filter. Amazingly I got it together and working, despite the lack of clear instructions, and it seems to be working beautifully.

I have it in a 75 gallon tank right now. I completely forget how many GPH you need per fish. Do you guys know if this will be sufficient for 5 goldfish? I have one 5 inch common, one 4in shubunkin, one each 2-3in pearlscale, calico oranda, and panda oranda. I'm really hoping this filter will work for them.

Also, any tips on maintenance for this thing? I have never owned one so I'm learning all this from scratch. Any tips for keeping it working efficiently would be super helpful.

Hi, I have this same filter on my 60 Uk gallon tank!!...it does a fantastic job I clean it every 3 months,!!! some people will say clean it more often ..but it works for me!! :-) I clean the bio balls and ceramic pieces in a bucket of tank water and wash the sponges in tap water!! I usually change the floss for fresh each time!! you can buy huge rolls of it really cheap on flea bay!!

My filter has been running for over 2 years without a problem!.. I'm sure you will be happy with it!!

1 hour ago, fingers said:

Hi, I have this same filter on my 60 Uk gallon tank!!...it does a fantastic job I clean it every 3 months,!!! some people will say clean it more often ..but it works for me!! :-) I clean the bio balls and ceramic pieces in a bucket of tank water and wash the sponges in tap water!! I usually change the floss for fresh each time!! you can buy huge rolls of it really cheap on flea bay!!