Kokos Goldfish Forum

I woke up this morning to two of my fish dead. i did not see any signs of illness on the other fish AND I had to go to work. When I came home all the rest of the fish were dead. They had developed a kind of white film on their bodies [see pictures]. The water parameters were all fine and I've never had this happen before. The ONLY new addition to this tank was an oranda from Petsmart that I added about 1 week ago and aquaponic stones from Petco for the Pothos i have growing on top. I did not see any ich marks or anything telling of disease leading up to this. The fish were eating and behaving normally.

2017-06-28 17.59.37.jpg

2017-06-28 18.01.15.jpg

2017-06-28 18.18.07.jpg

2017-06-28 18.02.58.jpg

Edited by redgold54
mislled Pothos

I am so sorry for your loss.

1 minute ago, DawnMichele said:

I am so sorry for your loss.

Thank you. I've been keeping fish for a few years now. I'm specially angry about my beautiful white oranda.

I'm so sorry to hear about this.  When all of the fish in a tank die at the same time, they most likely experienced something toxic.  Would you be so kind as to fill out this form to help us figure out what happened.

Please copy & paste the following form and fill it out to the best of your ability when requesting help for Goldfish Problems.  If copy and paste doesn't work for you, just quote this post put your answers right after the questions.

• Test Results for the Following:
    • * Ammonia Level(Tank)
    • * Nitrite Level(Tank)
    • * Nitrate level(Tank)
    • * Ammonia Level(Tap)
    • * Nitrite Level(Tap)
    • * Nitrate level(Tap)
    • * Ph Level, Tank (If possible, KH, GH and chloramines)
    • * Ph Level, Tap (If possible, KH, GH and chloramines)
    • Other Required Info:
      • * Brand of test-kit used and whether strips or drops?
      • * Water temperature?
      • * Tank size (how many gals.) and how long has it been running?
      • * What is the name and "size of the filter"(s)?