Kokos Goldfish Forum
teethguy222

What's happening to my goldfish?

Hello all,

I have a 29gal tank w/ 2 fancy, 1 dojo loach. (Filtered w/ Marineland 350) My larger fancy goldfish is the one in question. Recently he started hanging out at the top (kinda tail up), very lethargic looking. Even now when I'm looking at him swim around, sometimes his tail-half of his body starts to drift up a little when he's not actively moving. It almost looks like he's being pulled up by the meat of his tail. A second issue I noticed, is that on his left eye, I've noticed an opacity that wasn't there. I used to be able to see right clear into his eyeball, but now there's an obvious opaque spot. Are these related? What else should I be looking for?

Other info: I've had all 3 fish together for over 3 years now. Temperature has been fairly stable since I started using a 100w heater (on lowest setting), as well as keeping the room temp no lower than 60F. I've been doing that for almost 6 months now, and hadn't had any problems previously. I haven't been doing a great job of changing water, but I have been changing the filters more often. (I know it's no substitute :pan for water changes) I recently started adding some fluval charcoal/ammonia remover packets to my filter just to give it the occasional bump. Soon, I will be switching to the Marineland cartridges with biomax, and a layer of Marineland filter floss in front of it. I do not have current readings on nitrogen, but I think it's well controlled now that I've been back to changing water regularly.

Thanks for reading! :goldfish:

Without the water readings for ammonia, nitrite, and nitrates, it is hard to tell. If you aren't doing a weekly water change, then it might be your problem. Bad water quality can cause a lot of issues. From fin rot, cloudy eyes, to fish getting unhealthy.

Also what temperature is the tank exactly at?

Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk