ChrissieA

Thoughts on water chemistry?

7 posts in this topic

Hello, I started this thread below a few weeks ago, thought I'd start a new one with some actual numbers and since the tank is up and running. The gist of that thread is our water is variable with possible ammonia, phosphate and can be brackish. I want to make the tank as stable and Edgar-the-ranchu-friendly as possible. In that thread Sharon suggested plants would help.

Tank parameters (I did these parameters twice to be sure as I'm new to the api test kit)

ph - low - 7.6

ph high - 7.4

ammonia - o.25-0.5 ppm

nitrite - 0

nitrate - 5-10ppm

kh - 3 drops so 3 dkh or 53.7ppm

gh - 6 drops 94 6 dgh or 107.4

tap parameters (these appear to be variable as I know I've had ammonia in the tap water before) but today...

ph - low - 7.2

high - 7.4

ammonia - 0

nitrite - 0

nitrate - 0

kh - 3

gh - 6

I lost one fish in quarantine so there is only 1 one and a half inch ranchu in the tank, which has been set up a week today. Unfortunately I think I contributed to the loss of the moor. As our water is unstable I change small amounts daily. I'd been particularly busy, missed a couple of days and so did a slightly larger change, about 30-40% I think, the next morning the moor was dead. So I'm nervous about changing too much.

i only set the tank up last week so I used the water Edgar the ranchu was already in to fill the tank. Is it possible the quarantine had started to cycle and that's where the nitrate has come from? And I've stopped or bumped it moving Edgar into the tank?

Tank is 100L with a filter that only does 400L per hour so I'm under filtered but I'm in the process of planning a pond style filter that will be done ASAP. I have 3 little pothos plants in the tank suspended in bathroom holder things. 

I believe the kh is low? Why would the tank be more alkaline than the tap? I'm not sure what it all means.

aside from fixing my filtration issue, what's my best option for the kh?