Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
kitsulove

Septicemia? Open wound? Medicine?

Hello. I'm new to this app so I'm not sure if I'm doing things correctly. Anyways, I have this penpal (yes we actually write to each other etc) and she's a veterinarian. She's experienced with fish and told me what my goldfish has. I don't know it's gender, I recently bought it from a local pet store. She has helped me with getting certain medications to fix it's clamped dorsal fin and it has been lively ever since. Now it has this open wound? Septicemia from what she told me. I did put it in a quarantine tank to be separated from the others. I ordered medicine online and someone else told me I need strong antibiotics instead of using melafix. I read posts online about Septicemia and it's making me really sad. I've had fish before, but not goldfish. I've done water changes to make the water safe for all my fish and this goldfish is still getting more problems. IMG_-pkkjrs.jpgIMG_x0em5o.jpgIMG_vx6h8l.jpgSnapchat-44126318.jpg

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

Welcome to Kokos and hope your Goldfish feels better.

Please copy & paste fill the following form and fill it out to the best of your ability when requesting help for Goldfish Problems: 

• Test Results for the Following:
    • * Ammonia Level(Tank)
    • * Nitrite Level(Tank)
    • * Nitrate level(Tank)
    • * Ammonia Level(Tap)
    • * Nitrite Level(Tap)
    • * Nitrate level(Tap)
    • * Ph Level, Tank (If possible, KH, GH and chloramines) 
    • * Ph Level, Tap (If possible, KH, GH and chloramines)
    • Other Required Info:
      • * Brand of test-kit used and whether strips or drops?
      • * Water temperature?
      • * Tank size (how many gals.) and how long has it been running?
      • * What is the name and "size of the filter"(s)?
      • * How often do you change the water and how much?
  • * How many days ago was the last water change and how much did you change?