Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
TJPettigrew

Comet Goldfish - Injury? Growth? Parasite? Tumour?

Hi everyone,

So long story short, I inherited my sisters goldfish as she moved out of the province. I've been fish-keeping for 3 years now and have 3 tanks. I'm a member of Fishlore and was suggested to check this forum out.

For now the Goldfish in a 75g Bow Front, which I know is not what they should be in. They came to me in a 54g Bow Front so I immediately upgraded with what was available. Let's not discuss this, they'll be moved to a suitable environment in the spring.

Fish:

1x Large Ryukin 9" (Fancy J) 7-8yr

1x Comet Goldfish 11" (Goldie) 8-9yr

1x Bristlenose Pleco 5.5" (Un-named) 6yr

About 5 weeks ago we noticed Goldie had an "injury" over her right nostril. It looked like maybe she hit the handle of the glass lid while eating and or playing, we've watched it happen previously but never saw any injuries. Nonetheless we lowered the water level and continued to monitor it. As the days and weeks progressed it grew, changed colours and imo continued to get worse. It seems to be busting out of itself while it grows. Little flakes of "dead skin" falls off every couple of days. It's been red, turned almost white and has been purple-ish in colour.

None of the fish show any signs of being in distress, everyone is super active and eating normally. It doesn't seem it be bothering her but it's weirding me out.

My water is always immaculate due to my obsessiveness for the hobby.

I do water changes of 20% twice a week on this tank and keep spreadsheets on all the tests I do before every water change, for all of my tanks.

Filtration:

2x Penguin 350 (700ghp)

1x 75g HydroSponge

1x MaxiJet Powerhead

Tank Parameters:

0ppm

0ppm

5ppm

7.0pH

Tap Parameters:

0.0ppm

0.0ppm

0.0ppm

7.2pH

I think I covered everything, sorry if I missed any helpful info. If I did just ask.