fishstiks

adding Prazi......new baby fry?

7 posts in this topic

Hi all,

So, much to my surprise, my fancy goldies have been spawning for the last few weeks.  We first noticed them chasing about 3 or so weeks ago, not realizing what it was (I am very new to the world of goldies) and a few days later, we saw baby fry in the tank.  I'm pretty sure nature took its course there.  A week later, they spawned again.  This time, realizing what this was, I was able to salvage some of the eggs before they all got eaten.  I currently have 7 fry that are now a little over a week old (apx 9-10 days old).  They are growing, eating well, and have started to develop tails. 

I have been reading a lot on goldfish fry, and I keep reading about worming for flukes.  I have Prazi, which I use during QT for new fish.  How old do the fry need to be before I can add Prazi to their water?

Also, at what point are the fry old enough to go into a tank with a higher water level and filter?  I currently have them in a 5.5 gallon tank filled only about 2 inches high with water, an airstone and sponge and a little bio-media (when in a pinch, lol).  I do a 95% water change every other day.  So far, they seem to be doing well, I'm just not sure when they will be strong enough go in a tank with a cycled filter.  I have an empty 20 long that I was thinking of putting them into when they get big enough to grow out until they are old enough to rehome and/or add to my show tank. 

Congratulations and welcome to the wonderful world of breeding. Praziquantel is a wonderful product and you will not go wrong by using it. Depth is not a factor . I raise mine in ponds of 80 cm . Important is water quality which means room to grow. You have almost zero baby and the very best conditions to produce excellent results. (Normally spawn is hundreds to thousands) . Live food such as artemia fresh hatched can give super results. Regards , Michael