Pic of the week

Pic of the week poll #14
Sign in to follow this  
Arctic Mama

Xypex for concrete tank/pond?

7 posts in this topic

This could have gone in either the pond or DIY section but I'm not technically building a pond and not making it yet, so I picked general chat ;)

I have mentioned on the site that my husband and I are selecting land to build our next home and I'm planning on building in a 500-ish gallon acrylic tank. My husband, who is a geeky engineer and adores concrete with disturbing passion, suggested we cast the tank and just use an acrylic pane on the front side (similar to what Seaworld and most large aquariums do) so there would be less chance of leaking and it would be less delicate.

He talked about using a product he is familiar with called Xypex, which waterproofs concrete and is completely non-toxic (it does it by modifying the crystalline structure of the concrete as it cures, apparently). We would probably then cost the tank with a non-toxic epoxy paint to give it an nice black background and some shine.

Given how many people have built ponds around here, has anyone used or heard of Xypex positively or negatively? It isn't a super expensive product but the tank will be massive and I'd like to get it right, so I'm looking for anyone's input on Xypex or even designing a viewing window from acrylic of the appropriate thickness (probably inch thick or so, we would have to calc it out with that water volume).

Here is a link to Xypex:

http://www.xypex.com/products/crystalline-technology

Thoughts? Experience?

Sounds like an interesting DIY and quite the tank! As always i know nothing on the topic, but i am excited to see how this progresses.