Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
waya

Few Questions

I'm looking to get a few peoples opinions on a few of my gold fish.

Does this fish look like a finless type or more like it has a birth defect or damage?

20160829_233844.jpg

20160829_233808.jpg

Does this one look a little thin? She has a thinner longer body then my others and I'm not sure if its normal for her or if she needs to put on some weight.

20160903_043307.jpg

20160903_030226.jpg

Edited by waya

I'm no professional, but first fish I say he's a mixed breed anyway with perhaps a birth defect (note how lumpy the spine is). Some fish are naturally thinner than others. My long bodied Oranda eats as much as my Ryukins and just isn't as round. The rounder the fish, the more prone to swimming issues so I don't think it's harmful. Cute little guys.

Thank you for the reply

The bumps are a very big part of what is making me thing birth defect on the 1st baby.

The red and white girl I just got and I'm not sure she had ate for a time. I picked her up the same day she made it to the store and shes the only goldfish I've had not poop in the bag on the way home a 30min ride (normally 5-10min rides and I have a pile of poop). It made me a little more worried but she is eating and acting just fine now. I'll see if she fattens up or not in time . I just wanted to know if I should try feeding her more then my others or if she was good.

My other big boys are very round.

This guy is by far the roundest 2nd largest. He used to have problems a lot when he was younger. I'd always find him having problems swimming and floating up to the top of the tank. So I can agree with you the roundness isn't always good. Luckly he hasn't had any problems in months.

Goldy.jpg

And just to show off my fav boy and the biggest bought at the same time and the same size he isn't as round tho close but is bigger.

Big%20Boy%202.jpg

I should make a post and show all of them off.