kiaas

HOB Algae Scrubber idea

15 posts in this topic

I'm considering making an acrylic algae scrubber that'll work as a HOB, and trying to make it look fairly professional (kinda hoping I could sell 'em if the prototype performs well, tbh). I plan to use mostly opaque black acrylic, with a clear acrylic back, with LED grow lights and a reflector on said back, then a plastic mesh for the algae to grow on. I'm undecided if I should try to integrate a normal HOB filter's motor and impeller and tubing into the filter, or use a powerhead with tube attachment to attach it to the HOB scrubber.

I've never worked with acrylic before, but the process of bonding joints looks easy enough. Never used a powerhead either, so does anyone have any suggestions or warnings about problems I might face?

Edited by kiaas

I'm having a very difficult time picturing this and understanding what it does . . . could you post up a sketch or collage of images to better express the idea?  :)

Edited by Acro

I'm having a very difficult time picturing this and understanding what it does . . . could you post up a sketch or collage of images to better express the idea?  :)