Pic of the week

Pic of the week poll #14
Candybugs

Advice on how to move fish into new bigger tank

16 posts in this topic

I'm moving 3 fancy gf to a bigger tank because they've not been in ideal water. Should I put some of the old water in the new. These are my roommates fish I don't want to kill them. I'm new to fish this is a rescue mission. I've spent a lot of money to get this tank and get it going and it's all for these fish. I can't have suffering happening under my roof. One of his fish is swimming butt up so I don't have time to cycle so I'll do big water changes. How do I do this safely. One of the fish is appx 8 years old the other 2 are 4yrs old. I'm trying to make this better and I'm so scared I don't want to make it worse. Help.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

Don't use the old water (unless there is a large difference between tap and tank pH). The cycle is in the filter not the water column. Move the filter from the old tank to the new tank or move all the media from the old filter to the new one, if there is a new one...

What size tank are you moving them into? What filter will be in the new tank?

This is pretty simple, but can you first tell me the pH of tap and tank water and the size of each tank?  Does he have a filter in the current tank?   What about gravel?  Do you have a filter in the new tank?

Please don't do anything until you have answered these questions or you could make it worse.

EDIT: Fantailfan answered while I was typing.   I agree almost completely with what she says.   I know she agrees that we need more info before proceeding, since we asked the same questions.

Edited by shakaho