Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Val

Help with treating a combo of problems

I am new to having goldfish. I have a 37 gallon tank with two orandas and one fantail. I didn't quarantine the fantail when I added him to the aquarium and now my fish all have ich. I have been using cupramine for two weeks with salt and ich is still there. The tank is not cycled so I am using prime as well. I called the company to see if I could use both prime and cupramine together and seachem told me that they could not be used together. Then, she said the opposite and said they could be used together if it was a day apart! I also am doing 25% water changes every three days. Lastly, they also came down with septicemia and I was treating that with erythromycin as directed on the package. I need direction where to go from here. One of the orandas does not look well, all three are eating well. Please help on what to do next.

Hi  :hi

Can you fill out the D&D Check List?  You'll find the link below my signature.  Just copy and paste it to your post and fill in the answers.  This will help us make a better diagnosis for you :)

Some photos of the tank and fish would help as well.

What he said :)

Filling out the form completely and accurately really helps us keep our information straight and less likely to miss something important. That, along with pictures or video, give us the best chance of getting you an accurate diagnosis and treatment plan.

We recommend treating ich with 0.3% salt and elevated temperature.  Goldfish have a high sensitivity to copper, so I don't recommend cupramine.

It sounds like you have multiple problems in your tank, but we can't know what problems and how to treat them without information.

Please copy the form below, paste it into your post, and type your answers after the questions.  You can find some help on how to answer here.