Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
ChrissieA

Cycling questions

We just upgraded our tank. The first tank unfortunately cycled itself so I have no experience with 'assisting' cycling. I was so frustrated and worried about the old tank because something in there was making them sick, that I just wanted to start again and not risk transferring any drama to the new tank. I threw out the media which was old and awful looking anyway, and now we have to start again.

I fully understand the cycle and the cycling process I'm just not sure of the best way to approach it for this tank.

We just built a pond filter and the combined water volume of the tank and filter is at minimum 700L. I have 3 fish, the largest is about 11cm sl. That's about 233L per fish.

It seems like it would take a really long time to get the ammonia concentration up in that volume of water? I'm assuming that means that the tank would take a lot longer to even start cycling. This normally wouldn't bother me as long as the fish were happy, but we're going away in 6 weeks.

We've worked out a plan for a contunous water change, so if we begin a fish-in cycle, is the large water volume and continuous water change enough to keep ammonia etc down to suitable levels while we're away? I realise it'll probably slow the cycling process but that part is more about keeping the fish happy while we're gone. As long as the fish aren't in danger I'd prefer to do this.

I guess I'm asking whether the water volume and constant water change is enough to keep everyone happy despite not having a fully functioning cycle? We'll also have plants in the tank, although not a lot of them as we're doing a test run to determine which plants aren't considered lunch before we plant the whole tank. The pond filter will also have plants on top to help with nitrates.

Would it be better to do a fishless cycle and try to get it done more quickly?

Any other ideas?