Kokos Goldfish Forum
GothSpice

Post-quarantine reintroduction

So I've had my two goldfish separated for just over two weeks while I've been treating one for... I'm not quite sure but it was definitely some sort of parasite! Anyways, he's bright-eyed and bushy-tailed again, and today is his last day of medicine. So, day after tomorrow, I need to reintroduce him to the main tank.

I've never done this before. He and his former tankmate are very young, and were only held together briefly, so I doubt they'd recognize each other. What's the safest, calmest way to reintroduce them?

If you're worried about aggression, from my experience, I've never had seen aggression after reintroducing goldfish to the main tank.  They may chase each other around a little bit bc they're excited, but it's not like a hamster, or a dog, where you need to be careful introducing them to each other in someone's "territory."

Other than that, I'm sure you know to put Asimov into a bag (I just use a ziploc) and float him in the main tank for about 20 min to make sure he adjusts to any temperature differences.  You shouldn't have to add tank water to his bag, since they're both in water from your sink so the parameters should be the same.  

Unless one of the tanks has a heater, there shouldn't be water temperature differences.  Just scoop him up and put him  in the main tank.  They may recognize one another and may  even perform a sort of "greeting ceremony" in which reunited fish swim in circles around one another.  One fish may persistently follow the other, or they might each just go about their own business.

Awesome! Okay, yeah I was worried it'd be like trying to introduce new cats XD That takes a load of pressure off my mind!

My fish seemed fine when I put them back together. Some chasing but nothing major. I'd not worry.

Provided the parameters match I wouldn't worry about it. They may take a little while to adjust to one another again but I doubt it ;)

Edited by Arctic Mama