QandD

Duckweed care

30 posts in this topic

I know that duckweed is low-maintenance, but I was wondering if and how I should go about doing some water changes on it. I just got a cup of organic duckweed from eBay (seemingly reputable seller), and it's in a shallow 12x18" tub filled with dirty tank water. I plan on keeping it near the window that gets some sunlight in the morning.

It seems like it would be difficult to use a siphon in the duckweed tub, but I suppose I could rake the plants to the side with a sieve or something? Or do I just need to add an ammonia source to the extant water without replacing it?

Thanks!

Following!  

:D

I'm also new to duckweed.  I've been keeping it in a separate 10 gallon tank I have and adding old tank water every few days or so, but there isn't much light in it's current location.  Like you, I'm not 100% sure how to care for it and ensure it grows properly.

I wanted to try duckweed too. Have no idea how!

i'm jumping on this educational bandwagon too :teehee

Mine is in the pond.  Nothing special for care.  I just kept the pond covered with a small portable green house to keep it alive threw the winter.  Still enough left to start it off for the summer.  Only a tiny piece of the water lettuce is left but hope it well recover.

When I was growing duckweed, I drained the tub with some tubing into a bucket. Keep the tubing below the water surface to avoid surface skimming and most of the duckweed will remain. It tends to clump together or stick to the sides. When you refill everything will be back to normal. :)

Old tank water is perfectly fine, and try to give it as much light as possible. Mine had 8 hours of full sun (Australian summer sun) and was fine up until some frogs decided to have some fun and their babies ate it all. :rofl