Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
GothSpice

New to Koko's, New to fish

Hello everyone! My name's Goth Spice, and I am BRAND NEW to fish keeping, and rather in over my head!

I've had two tiny baby goldfish (roughly pinkie-sized) for about two weeks now, and in an effort to give them the best care possible, I stumbled across this amazing site. I am SO thankful I did! 

A little background: My friend & her boyfriend keep tropical freshwater fish, and had an extra 5.5 gallon tank. I thought, "What the hey? I'll make an aquatic zen garden!" and cheerfully brought it home. Cut to the next week, when my friend asks me if I want to come with her to buy some feeder fish for her Oscars. Like a fool, I said yes, and 45 minutes later we were driving home with 20+ small fry in a plastic bag on my lap. Well, I'm a sucker & a bleeding heart, and fell madly in love with two of the poor little guys (a white one with red on top, and a tortoiseshell). I believe they're comets. Well all they way home I whispered "Oh you poor little things", "Oh you sweet little babies", and by the time we got to her place she had officially decreed them mine. I am SO GLAD I kept them! The rest were subjected to a terrible fate :( I am NEVER, EVER watching her feed her oscars again! *shudder*

Well I had some pebbles and rocks and things around the house, and my friend gave me some water conditioner, so I set it up pretty dang sparse the first night. The next day, I went to the local Petco and asked about goldfish requirements. "Do they need a heater? Do they need a filter? How big will they get?" They told me that you can basically stick 'em in a bucket full of toilet water, and they'd be peachy keen. Because goldfish are stupid, you see. Oh no, they don't get big. They don't live long.

.........Something about this struck me as fishy (pun intended), so I started researching online.