Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Neyko

Do you always soak your GF's food?

I'm curious about this because I've been reading through some of the threads on here, and I've seen some users say they do and others say they don't. I haven't been soaking my food so far (feeding Omega One sinking pellets, small size). Should I be soaking it? The fish doesn't seem floaty, but I've only seen him poop once since I bought him home... it was a normal one though, according to the guide on here.

Also, how much should I be feeding? So far I've only been doing a pinch twice a day. Is that enough?

Sorry for all the questions, but I'm a bit of a noob at this.

I don't soak my food but then again the pellets I use are small and you should feed your goldfish as much as they can eat in a minute and fed a few times a day at least :)

I don't feed any foods that float. But if I did I would.

I always soak the pellets I feed my Goldfish so that it expands a bit before going into my fish instead of it expanding after they eat it.

Some people here weigh their fish and feed 1% of their weight in food divided into a few different meals a day.

I use mostly floating pellets and I never soak them. If I were going to soak them, I would put them in a spoon, put in a little bit of water, wait until that was absorbed, add a bit more, and continue until they were mushy.

Drop in pellets, one or two at a time until your fish stops gobbling to chew. He has a mouthful. That's enough for a feeding. If your fish is tiny, you can repeat this several times a day. For a mature fish, once is enough, two times is better.

I don't soak the Hikari Lionhead because it sinks immediately.  I do soak the NLS in a cup of tank water for a few seconds because it floats before it sinks.

I feed Hikari Lionhead pellets and they're sinking so I don't soak them. Never had any problems. 

My goldies get fed four times a day, small meals. Morning, early afternoon, late afternoon, and night. :)