Kokos Goldfish Forum

Hello..

After some try and error & "some deals" I decided to upgrade my 20G to a 125G..

I know is a huge gap.. I wasn't really planning to do this and I don't even know if I'm gonna be able to keep up with it but Im only hoping for the best..

I'm having right now two little residents (survivors of Petsmart) who already passed the QT succesfully

and another 5 goldies (from a better source) in QT tanks..

I wanted to show mainly the sump set up.. I'm a newbie and I only arranged the media to my little knowledge but if one of you experts tells me otherwise I'll be happy to rearrange..

I have first two layers of pink filter pad at the drip tray for mechanical

Then, blue bioballs right under with an extra line of oxigen for gas exchange

followed by some black small bioballs with sponge inside which are half way submerged

Then some ceramic rings & substrat pro spheres..

Last, I added some foam block before returning to the tank for extra mechanical

I also decided to make a DIY algae scrubber to keep the nitrates (hopefully) under control & eventually being able to overstock..

On the overflow box I decided to "wrap" the screen insert with some blue pad but if you guys think I'm slowing down the flow by doing that I'll remove it...

I'm waiting on a deal I'm cooking for an FX5 or FX6 so right now I only have that small sump (Eshopps wd-75cs) & a Fluval 306

which I think it is (kinda) sufficient for two small residents..

Any comments or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.. Thanks!!

20150306_144401_zpszcpitemj.jpg

20150313_222233_zpsappnkibw.jpg

20150313_112536_zpshkeoxoly.jpg

20150313_113137_zpst81bvvdx.jpg

I just want to say it looks awesome so far!

That looks epic and I love the look of solid gold's old tank and your tank looks like here old setups :) well done! :D

Please let us all know how the algae scrubber works out for you as far as controlling Nitrates.