Kokos Goldfish Forum
JeremyG

How do you read the API colour tests?

Hello All,

I have been using the API Master Freshwater tests for a few months, but I have a heck of time with a few of the colours:

the yellow in the ammonia, and the PH low and high.

The colours that come up for PH appear so different from the colours on the tester sheet, especially at the top of the low range and the bottom of the high range. In terms of the ammonia, while my ammonia did not fit for any of the colours, it was yellow with no trace of green, but it didn't really match with the yellow at 0 or at .25.

Does anyone have any advice on how to match these colours up to a tester or am I using a poor testing kit?

If you have any ideas or suggestions, please let me know.

Regards,

Jeremy

You want to hold the vial close to a white surface (the white on the card next to the colors), but slightly away from it so that it's not touching the card, and look at it straight on.

Sometimes the colors will not match exactly. I figure this is because the reading may be slightly in between two. For example, an ammonia reading that is not a clear yellow, but not obviously green either suggests to me that there is a slight amount of ammonia that the test is picking up on. Sometimes you just need to round to the closest color. I also find the high pH test difficult to read, as the colors rarely match exactly.

If you ever want a poll, you could post pics here of the vials next to the card ;)

.or get video. It was hard for me to get the real colors to show up in pics. (but that could be just me) ;)

I had trouble reading the ammonia and nitrate. The ammonia almost always has a slight greenish tinge to it, but sometimes, when there was no doubt there wasn't any green, it would be the yellow of the nitrate, rather than the ammonia on the card. :idont(not always though)

Edited by TikiLola

Thanks, Tithra and TikiLola,