Sign in to follow this  
Kate89

Don't use potassium permanganate

28 posts in this topic

I have just had a disaster 'sterilising' my new plants with potassium permanganate.

I bought £35 worth of various vallis, crypts, and elodea. As I've had some bad experiences in the past with pest snails, I read the 'Plants for Goldfish' page and found Koko's advice on using potassium permanganate to rid plants of unwanted pests.

I followed the instructions correctly - I measured the water out exactly, I weighed the pp out using electronic scales, I even left the plants soaking for less time than recommended. However when I got them out of the bucket nearly all of my plants were black and dying. The only few plants I could salvage from the catastrophe were a few crypts.

I'm absolutely gutted :(

Please don't anyone use this method if you don't want to be as disappointed as I am, and £30 worse off.

Koko maybe it would be a good idea to put a warning on the 'Plants for Goldfish' page about this method?

I'm sorry that my first post is so negative, I just don't want anyone else to kill all of their plants before they even get them in their tank!

Kate

I'm sorry that this was your experience. Are the plants simply stained purple/black, or are they actually melted?

I have had great success with PP on even the most delicate of plants, though I have noticed a temporary staining, which will go away with a few days of Prime and some TLC.

Edited by schoolie

I'm sorry that you had a terrible experience, and we are happy to help you troubleshoot.

As for the use of PP, this is a matter of textbook usage, and has been in use for decades. Many members of this forum has used it successfully, including myself.

At this point, until we figure out exactly what went wrong, it's hard to put a warning.