Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
tarannosaurus

When is CO2 necessary?

I apologize if this is in the wrong place.

I'm just wondering when it is necessary to use CO2 in aquariums. I have a lot of plants, I mean, it's not a jungle or anything, but they seem to be doing just fine. Is it just certain plants that require CO2? I have anubias, onions, aponogetons, amazon swords and a water lily. My light is a T5HO and I am using Eco Complete substrate. I have been adding flourish and excel.

I have added a few more plants since this photo was taken:

20131008_1824541_zpsc32e4545.jpg

I am fairly new to live plants, so I am open to any suggestions as well.

Edited by tarannosaurus

What brand light ? How many bulbs? How big is the tank?

Certain plants do require high light and CO2, these are plants that would not grow without it.

However all plants have a greater need for Co2 and ferts as lighting levels rise. You can think of light as the driving force. As light level increases plant photosynthesis/growth also increases. In order for the plant to remain healthy as it continues growing at a faster rate it requires increased CO2 and increased fertilization. (Think of it as a growing child, during a growth spurt (high light) they need more food and more sleep to grow properly)

Plants grown in high light tanks where additional co2 and ferts are not provided will show deficiencies and stunting, you are also likely to see an increase in algae issues in this situation where the balance is off.

In order to reduce the need for added co2 and ferts it's as easy as reducing lighting levels ;)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

None of the plants in your tank need high light/co2 btw. They will grow just fine in low-med lighting levels.