Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
phoebie

Help! I have eggs!

I found eggs in my tank! So far I have removed them and put them in a separate container, but what do I do? How long will it take for any fertilized eggs to hatch? This is my first experience with eggs so I'm slightly panicking, if any are fertilized I don't want to hurt them. I can just imagine the fry of Edie and Georgie being gorgeous and I don't want to kill them, please help! :o

I'm sure everyone has their own method, but I have always hatched my fry in a breeding cage (the netted style - with am extra net over the first one to stop the fish sucking the eggs through) in the main tank with the parents with a bubbler to keep the eggs moving. I remove any eggs that have turned white or have fungus growing on them, because this spreads to healthy eggs.

What temperature is your tank? The warmer it is, the sooner the eggs will hatch. Too cold and they'll go white and moldy. I have my tank on 26 degrees Celsius and my eggs hatch in 48 hours.

I have a small fry tank which I transfer the fry to once they are a little older and free moving (usually 3 days) but I was expecting fry and had the tank cycled and ready.

How many eggs do you have?

EDIT: My fry tank has a sponge filter in it turned down low, so it is safe for the fry. It also has a small heater in it set at the same temp as the tank they came from.

The water needs to be spot on too. No ammonia etc.

Edited by Scarlett

Thanks, my tank is at 26C, there's quite a lot of eggs, somewhere over 50 I think, I'm so excited, I reeeaaally hope some hatch :)

You can keep them in another container with a bubbler until they hatch, but the only problem with that is you cannot regulate the temperature. Can you source a breeding cage easily? Not the hard plastic ones. The slits are top big and the fry swim through.

This is my fry tank.

Posted Image