Sign in to follow this  
JACKHAGGETT

Help this newby!

9 posts in this topic

Hello!

So I'm relatively new to fish keeping. Because of REALLY bad circumstances, I have ended up with two single tailed fish in a 10 gallon tank with a 29 gallon tank that I'm planning to move them into eventually. What I want to know is, how can I cycle my 29 fast and safely? Should I leave the fish in the 10 and do a fishless cycle on the 29, and then add them once it's cycled? Or should I just add the fish and cycle the tank with them in it? I have a 400 gph hang on back filter with filter floss and ceramic media.

Thanks! :hi

Welcome to Kokos!

Just put your filter on the new tank. It's an instant cycle since it is already built up in your 400 GPH, correct?

Edited by Mikey

No. I didn't get a chance to cycle it in the 10. I'm freakin out because I don't want the ammonia levels to get too high :(

Welcome to the forum. :)

Do you have test kits for ammonia, nitrate, nitrite, and PH? If you move the cycled media and filter over to the twenty nine and do water changes daily, you should be ok. You want to make sure that the PH from your tap and that of your tank are pretty close, so that you don't have PH swings. Then you can monitor the other readings until the bacteria from the smaller filter seed the bigger one.

Edited by Mr.B

hello, welcome to kokos.

if your filter is not cycled, then the more water these fish can have, the better.

yes, toxins will rise, but they will rise slower in more space and you will be able to manage them better. get yourself a testing kit, (we prefer the accuracy of the API freshwater liquid drops test kit) and Seachem Prime or Amquel Plus. these two instantly detoxify Ammonia and other harmful water params.