Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Mikey'sGold

pH and Nitrate Problem

Hello All! I'm new here and I've been keeping goldfish for about 3 years. Recently, I moved and had to transfer my tank to my new home - my setup is a 37 gallon tank with Penguin 250 filter (200 gph and i'm upgrading it this week). I have two Ryukin goldfish, one is 8 inches long and the other is 6 inches long. I only have about 30 pounds of sand and about seven large rocks. I understand that the rocks affect the water chemistry and they were tested and boiled before being placed in the tank. The tank was also set up with 1/2 old water and 1/2 purified water from my local fish store. My problem is this, the pH is very acidic, almost 6.2, my alkalinity is extremely low and my nitrates are pretty high. I added java moss to help the alkalinity. I know I'm not the only person who keeps rocks in their tank so is there anything special I should be doing? Thanks for all the help!

Could you tell us what the tap parameters are, including kH and gH? Thanks!

Could you tell us what the tap parameters are, including kH and gH? Thanks!

gH - 75 ppm

kH - 40 ppm

would you mind providing all parameters for both tap and tank? :)

Tap:

Ammonia

nitrite

nitrate

pH

gh

kh

Tank:

ammonia

nitrite

nitrate

pH

gh

kh

Also, how often do you change the water and how much do you change at a time?

When was your most recent water change?

Are you using tap for water changes, or are you using water from the pet store?

would you mind providing all parameters for both tap and tank? :)

Tap:

Ammonia

nitrite

nitrate

pH

gh

kh

Tank:

ammonia

nitrite

nitrate

pH

gh

kh

Also, how often do you change the water and how much do you change at a time?

When was your most recent water change?

Are you using tap for water changes, or are you using water from the pet store?

Tap:

Ammonia - 0 ppm

Nitrate - 0 ppm

Nitrite - 0 ppm

gH - 25 ppm

Chlorine - 0 ppm

kH - 80 ppm

pH - 6.8

Tank: