Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
TorontoBoy

Nori (Seaweed) for your goldfish?

We, as a family, eat nori when we do veggie sushi. Nori is the thin dark green seaweed that is the outer wrap to sushi and sashimi. When bought at our local Japanese/Korean store, 50 sheets of 7.5"x8.5" costs $7CAD. That is a lot of nori. One sushi roll uses one sheet of nori. The package says 100% seaweed with nothing added.

I am no expert in algae, but Mr. Google says that nori, or seaweed, is some form of algae. I do not see the similarity with the stuff I scrape off the sides of my tank.

Does anyone feed their goldfish nori? The irony is that people serve nori to wrap raw fish to eat, while I am contemplating feeding the nori straight to my fish. I believe seaweed comes from the sea, as in marine water, and our goldfish are freshwater. Would there be microscopic particles of salt left in the nori that might harm goldfish. I don't taste not even a hint of salt when I eat nori.

The advantages of nori are:

-it is in my kitchen

-it is cheap

-it is algae/seaweed with nothing added

-if the fish don't eat it I will

I believe people do feed it to their goldies. These use a veggie clip to hold it in place.

HI! I do, I do! It makes a mess, but they love it! :)

I also feed mine seaweed from super market ( blue dragon brand ), good stuff.

Thanks all, I think I will try it!

Indeed I feed my goldfish nori and they're loving it. I only wonder how long I can leave these nori inside the aquarium.

1 hour ago, Stephen Tang said:

Indeed I feed my goldfish nori and they're loving it. I only wonder how long I can leave these nori inside the aquarium.

I would only leave it for 2-3 hours at most. It will foul the tank.

@Stephen Tang I agree, a few hours but if it starts to dissolve in the water it’s time to remove it.  You should be able to see when the nori begins to shred.