Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Phillyn17

Am I insane?

Hi guys.....

At the risk of being accused of being insane, can I ask everyone a general question....

• Do you think that fish recognize their main owner/keeper?

I studied my fish tank through the rear window of my house recently...my wife was going about her general chores in front of the tank. The fish just swam around gently, casually finding their way around the tank, and sifting their way through the substrate.

I entered the kitchen via the back door, which is right by the tank.....my fish went nuts!!! :carrot:

It was as if they recognized the person that the hand that normally feeds them belonged to.

Questioning my sanity, I tried the experiment several hours later...the exact same thing happened, they went nuts again!! :carrot:

Has anyone else experienced this? Please reassure/convince me I'm not heading to the loony bin!!! :aint:

Edited by Phillyn17

I want to say yes, for at least some species of fish! both my goldfish and my betta seemed to know when it was me or someone else walking by their tank; they always went crazy or at least came to the front of their tanks when it was me, expecting food. when it was anyone else, they were pretty much ignored. then again all of this could have been massive coincidence lol.

You are NOT insane. My fish recognizes me and in the past I have had other fish recognize me as well.

Since we aren't mental health professionals/experts, it is unfortunately not possible for us to determine your mental state. :rofl

However, I can say that goldfish seem to be able to recognize specific people and respond accordingly. :)