Pic of the week

Pic of the week poll #14
Sign in to follow this  
Jessijaxx

Hi From Jacksonville, Florida

19 posts in this topic

Hi I am new to keeping Goldfish very new about 2 1/2 weeks in. I have a 20 gallon tall tank and 3 small babies Black Moore, Calico Telescope and what I think is a Calico Ryukin (not sure). My son who is developmentally delayed always loved the fish tanks he saw in the doctor’s office and this fall he started school and they had a large tank in the main office every day he had to go look at that tank. One day he asked me if he could have a fish of his own I said if you’re good maybe Santa will bring u a fish of your own. He was trying his best to be super good so while he was away for holiday I went to petsmart and fell in love with the little black moors. I decided I would get him one and of course he needed friends. Asked the person working about keeping goldfish they handed me a pamphlet and pointed me towards the starter kits. I was told to let the tank run for 24 hours then I could come back and get fish. That’s what I did!! The fish seem happy but two days after I put them in my water became cloudy (I admit it I freaked out worried to the point where I would get up in the middle of the night to check on the fish) I have been doing regular water changes (about every 2 days) and I got another filter so I’m running a 110GPH(tetra ex 20) and a 200GPH ( aqueon quietflow 30) filter. By doing research online I’m learning a lot about cycling and cloudy water, keeping my babies happy and healthy. I am happy I found a place to go to when I have questions. I’m planning on upgrading my tank in about 2 months and I want one more fish. I plan on asking lots of questions so I can be ready when it’s time to upgrade : D my babies are still doing well they look good and are active and my son loves to watch them and help me do the water changes. I just wish I would have known about cycling so I could have avoided putting them in harm’s way!! sorry a