Sign in to follow this  
opis_fin

Start a fishless cycle without Pure Ammonia?

28 posts in this topic

Hi guys and gals,

I'm fairly new to keeping fish and have been researching a lot lately. I'm aware of cycling a fish tank however I'm slightly unclear on how to do this. I know about "http://www.kokosgoldfish.com/FishlessCycle.html".

The thing is I think I'm going to have major problems getting a hold of some pure ammonia. I've had a look at some other options such as adding fish food or a dead prawn/shrimp? What would my best option be? I'm thinking fish food. Can anyone share some insight as how I'd go about this. Obviously putting food in the tank lol, but how much per L, how often etc...

Any help would be fantastic - I want to get my cycle started!

Thanks muchly

-Lisa

Hooray for fishless cycles!!! :D This is definitely the best way to do it :)

Liquid ammonia is the ideal. It can be done with food, but it is more difficult to know exactly how much you need to add to get the desired effect, and you also then have the issue of rotting food in the tank which can lead to bacteria if not changed out regularly.

Have you checked your local hardware stores yet? that is where most people are able to get liquid ammonia. Ace hardware typically carries it if you have that chain nearby.

I would give the hardware store a try if you haven't yet and then we can talk fish food/prawns etc. I know there's a couple people here who have done it this way before :)

May I ask what your tank size is and what filters you have running? :)

EDIT: so sorry, just remembered you are from AUS and likely don't have an ace hardware store!

Is there any way you can get liquid am? It is the best option. I got some at walmart in the cleaning aisle. I was told that using fish food or something like that can rot.

The trick is she's in Australia. I'll bet someone in Australia can tell her exactly where to go to get it. :)