Kokos Goldfish Forum
Sign in to follow this  
melindapaolino

ph problems

I'm having some problems with my ph...

I had low ph, (sorry... dont know about my kh or gh my lfs didn't have any on hand so I'm waiting for it to come in the mail) around 6.0, so the guy at my fish store gave me some rocks for the bottom of my tank that raise ph I put 4 small rocks in there and now the ph is testing bright purple!! 8.4 or 8.8 I'm so upset! lol. I took 2 small rocks out and waiting, but im worried about ph drop is that going to be an issue, or should I take all of them out and get api neutral or whatever?

I'm sorry I'm asking so many questions, I'm kind of a worry wart.

Did you retest to make sure that it wasn't a false reading? What are the rocks called that they gave you? If it is crushed coral, that shouldn't put your pH up so high so quickly.

I did retest using the high ph test, the purple seems brighter than the two purple options... but then again i'm not very good at colors :) haha. the low ph test gives me a bright blue that seems too bright for the last blue spot on the card which is light. I have no clue what the rock is called, but I do know its not coral.

its this

http://i1123.photobucket.com/albums/l548/ohbbyxohbby/Photoon10-19-12at1152PM_zpsb17a1a7b.jpg

Could you get a picture of the test next to the card in bright light? Sometimes the colors look a little off when in certain lighting (: Not sure what that rock is either, but it looks like a brain :rofl

Whatever those rocks are, I think the biggest problem is that your tap water does not appear to have much ability to stabilize the pH, e.g. the water is low in alkalinity (kH). I think the necessary solution may be that you will want to age/pH adjust your water in a separate container, and then use that water to do water changes. Your tank will also need to be buffered to keep from having pH swings.

This is what I would like for you to do, please: